AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

Smart plugs with energy monitoring let you track a connected appliance’s electricity use and switch it remotely. My best overall pick is the Kasa KP115 for shoppers who want monitoring in a familiar compact plug; the Tapo P110M stands out for Matter support, while the Emporia four-pack suits buyers who want several monitored outlets. The main tradeoffs are ecosystem compatibility, pack size, and whether you need energy data or only remote control. Some Kasa and Tapo options include monitoring, while the Kasa HS103P4 and THIRDREALITY model should not be treated as energy-monitoring picks based on their listed features. Read on for the full comparison, buying criteria, and advice on matching a plug to your home.

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get travel and outdoor gear delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
15
compared
7
brands
1800 W
max maximum wattage
Which smart plugs with energy monitoring should you buy?
★ Top Pick
Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener
Best Single-Plug Pick
Energy monitoring alongside remote and voice control
See on Amazon →
Households that want energy charts and remote control for several appliances, especially users of Alexa, Google Assistant, or SmartThings.
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit
Four plugs provide energy monitoring across several appliances
View on Amazon →
Buyers automating several lamps or fans who prioritize schedules and voice control over energy-use data.
Kasa Smart Plug HS103P4
Four plugs support automation across multiple devices
View on Amazon →
People with a Matter-compatible smart home who want energy tracking for a couple of appliances across Apple, Google, Alexa, or SmartThings platforms.
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs
Matter support across several major smart-home platforms
View on Amazon →
Matter-based households that want energy monitoring on several appliances and use Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Alexa, or SmartThings.
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug w
Four plugs extend energy monitoring across multiple appliances
View on Amazon →
Maximum wattage — compared
Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener1800 W
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit1800 W
Kasa Smart Plug HS103P41800 W
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs 1800 W
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug w1800 W
Emporia Energy Monitoring Smar1200 W
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit1800 W
Govee Smart Plug with Energy M1800 W
TP-Link Tapo P125M Matter Smar1800 W
Pros & cons at a glance
Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener
✓ Energy monitoring alongside remote and voice control
✗ Single-plug format is less suited to outfitting several rooms than the Tapo P115 four-pack
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit
✓ Four plugs provide energy monitoring across several appliances
✗ Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
Kasa Smart Plug HS103P4
✓ Four plugs support automation across multiple devices
✗ Energy monitoring is not listed, unlike the Tapo P115 four-pack
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs
✓ Matter support across several major smart-home platforms
✗ Limited to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug w
✓ Four plugs extend energy monitoring across multiple appliances
✗ Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En
✓ Matter support works across Apple Home, Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings
✗ Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection
AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy
✓ Real-time energy monitoring
✗ Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
Emporia Energy Monitoring Smar
✓ Energy monitoring for connected devices
✗ 1200W maximum is below the 1800W limit of the Tapo P115 and Kasa Matter options
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit
✓ Energy statistics and charts help track device use
✗ Includes only two plugs, fewer than the AiSeek, Emporia, and Kasa four-packs
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En
✓ Matter support spans Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings
✗ Two plugs provide less coverage than the Kasa Matter four-pack
Govee Smart Plug with Energy M
✓ Tracks real-time power, current, and voltage, with up to one year of historical data
✗ Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and does not support 5 GHz
THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3
✓ States ±1% power-monitoring accuracy
✗ Requires a compatible Zigbee hub
TP-Link Tapo P125M Matter Smar
✓ Matter compatibility spans Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings
✗ Provided product data does not specify energy monitoring, a key requirement for this roundup
Kasa Smart Plug Mini 15A with
✓ Tracks real-time and historical energy usage
✗ HomeKit remote control requires an additional networked Apple device at home
Kasa Smart Plug Mini EP25P2
✓ Two-plug pack suits monitoring a small number of appliances
✗ HomeKit remote access requires an additional networked Apple device at home

Complete the kit

BAGAIL 8 Set Packing Cubes Luggage Packing Organizers for...
BAGAIL 8 Set Packing Cubes Luggage Packing Organizers for…
Add to your setup →
OlarHike 10 Set Compression Packing Cubes for Travel Esse...
OlarHike 10 Set Compression Packing Cubes for Travel Esse…
Add to your setup →
BAGAIL 4 Set/6 Set/8 Set Compression Packing Cubes Travel...
BAGAIL 4 Set/6 Set/8 Set Compression Packing Cubes Travel…
Add to your setup →

Key Takeaways

  • Energy monitoring separates this roundup into two groups: several Kasa and Tapo models list it explicitly, while the Kasa HS103P4 and THIRDREALITY Gen3 are better viewed as control-focused options unless their specific version confirms monitoring.
  • Matter choices vary by monitoring: Tapo P110M and Kasa Matter plugs combine Matter support with energy monitoring; the TP-Link Tapo P125M listing names Matter but not monitoring.
  • Pack size changes the buying decision: the Tapo P115 and P110M, Kasa Matter, and Emporia options come in multi-plug packs, making them more suitable for monitoring several appliances at once.
  • Apple HomeKit support is a distinct compatibility path: Kasa EP25 models are listed as HomeKit compatible, while the other Kasa and Tapo choices should be checked against the buyer’s preferred platform.
  • Electrical capacity is not the same as suitability for every appliance: several Tapo and Kasa options specify 15A, but buyers still need to check the connected device’s load and follow the plug’s safety limits.
2
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit
Best Value for Monitoring Several Devices
1
Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener
Best Single-Plug Pick
3
Kasa Smart Plug HS103P4
Best Basic Multi-Pack

Our Top Smart Plugs With Energy Monitoring Picks

Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Energy Monitoring (KP115)Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Energy Monitoring (KP115)Best Single-Plug PickModel: KP115Connectivity: 2.4 GHz Wi-FiVoice assistants: Amazon Alexa, Google AssistantVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15ATapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15ABest Value for Monitoring Several DevicesModel: Tapo P115Pack size: 4 plugsOperating voltage: 110 V ACVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Kasa Smart Plug HS103P4, 4-PackKasa Smart Plug HS103P4, 4-PackBest Basic Multi-PackModel: HS103P4Pack size: 4Operating voltage: 120 V ACVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15ATapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15ABest for Matter-Compatible HomesModel: P110MPack size: 2Maximum wattage: 1800 WVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15ATapo P110M Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15ABest Matter Pick for Multiple OutletsModel: P110MPack size: 4Maximum wattage: 1800 WVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-PackKasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-PackBest for Matter-Ready Multi-Room SetupsModel: KP125MP4Pack size: 4 plugsMaximum load: 15 A / 1800 WVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-PackAiSeek Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-PackBest for App-Based Group SchedulingModel: KT-US-EM-15APPack size: 4 plugsMaximum power: 1800 WVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plugs, 4-PackEmporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plugs, 4-PackBest for Lower-Power DevicesPack size: 4 plugsVoltage: 120 VMaximum wattage: 1200 WVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15ATapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15ABest Compact Two-PackModel: P115Quantity: 2 plugsOperating voltage: 125 VVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A/1800W, 2-PackKasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A/1800W, 2-PackBest Two-Pack for Matter EcosystemsModel: KP125MP2Pack size: 2 plugsMaximum current: 15 AVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-PackGovee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-PackBest for Long-Term Usage TrackingPack size: 4 plugsMaximum current: 15 AMaximum wattage: 1800 WVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3, 4-PackTHIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3, 4-PackBest for Zigbee Mesh ExpansionPack size: 4 plugsConnectivity: Zigbee 3.0Operating voltage: 110 VVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
TP-Link Tapo P125M Matter Smart Plug Mini, 3-PackTP-Link Tapo P125M Matter Smart Plug Mini, 3-PackBest for Matter Platform FlexibilityModel: Tapo P125MPack size: 3 plugsMaximum current: 15 AVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Kasa Smart Plug Mini 15A with Energy Monitoring and Apple HomeKit SupportKasa Smart Plug Mini 15A with Energy Monitoring and Apple HomeKit SupportBest for Apple HomeKit HouseholdsModel: EP25P4Maximum current: 15 AMaximum load: 1800 WVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Kasa Smart Plug Mini EP25P2, 15A, Apple HomeKit CompatibleKasa Smart Plug Mini EP25P2, 15A, Apple HomeKit CompatibleBest Two-Pack for HomeKit Energy TrackingModel: EP25P2Unit count: 2Connectivity: 2.4 GHz Wi-FiVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Specs at a glance
smart plugs with energy monitoringConnectivityModelOperating voltagePack size
Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener2.4 GHz Wi-FiKP115120 V AC—
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit2.4 GHz Wi-FiTapo P115110 V AC4 plugs
Kasa Smart Plug HS103P42.4 GHz Wi-FiHS103P4120 V AC4
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs —P110M—2
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug w—P110M—4
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with EnMatter, Wi-Fi, SmartThingsKP125MP4120 V4 plugs
AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, BluetoothKT-US-EM-15AP120 V4 plugs
Emporia Energy Monitoring Smar2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; 5 GHz Wi-Fi not supported——4 plugs
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit2.4 GHz Wi-FiP115125 V—
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with EnMatter, Wi-Fi, SmartThingsKP125MP2120 V2 plugs
Govee Smart Plug with Energy MWi-Fi and Bluetooth—120 V4 plugs
THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3Zigbee 3.0—110 V4 plugs
TP-Link Tapo P125M Matter SmarBluetooth, Matter, and Wi-FiTapo P125M120 V AC3 plugs
Kasa Smart Plug Mini 15A with 2.4 GHz Wi-FiEP25P4120 V AC—
Kasa Smart Plug Mini EP25P22.4 GHz Wi-FiEP25P2120 V—

More Details on Our Top Picks

  1. Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Energy Monitoring (KP115)

    Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Energy Monitoring (KP115)

    Best Single-Plug Pick

    View on Amazon

    The Kasa KP115 is a focused choice for someone who wants energy tracking on one appliance rather than a multi-plug setup. Its monitoring, schedules, and remote or voice control give you a way to check and manage a connected device without adding a hub. Compared with the Kasa HS103P4 four-pack, the KP115 is the better fit when energy data matters: the HS103P4 offers similar control features but its listed specifications do not include energy monitoring. The tradeoff is that the KP115 is sold as a single plug here, so covering several devices means buying multiple units. It also depends on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, which may not suit homes that rely on other Wi-Fi bands. UL certification, overheating protection, a child safety cover, and a two-year warranty add practical reassurance.

    Pros:
    • Energy monitoring alongside remote and voice control
    • Schedules and timers help automate connected appliances
    • Overheating protection and a child safety cover
    • UL certification and a two-year warranty
    Cons:
    • Single-plug format is less suited to outfitting several rooms than the Tapo P115 four-pack
    • Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection

    Best for: Someone who wants to monitor one appliance’s energy use and add app, voice, and schedule control without buying a multi-pack.

    Not ideal for: Households monitoring several appliances at once, or buyers whose Wi-Fi setup does not support 2.4 GHz.

    • Model:KP115
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
    • Operating voltage:120 V AC
    • Maximum wattage:1800 W
    • Dimensions:2.62 x 1.57 x 1.5 inches
    • Energy monitoring:Yes
    • Safety and warranty:UL certified; 2 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose the KP115 when you want energy monitoring for one appliance with useful safety features and simple app or voice control.”
  2. Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A

    Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A

    Best Value for Monitoring Several Devices

    View on Amazon

    For buyers who want energy data across several appliances, the Tapo P115 four-pack offers a practical way to equip multiple outlets with monitoring, charts, and remote control. Its statistics and usage charts make consumption easier to review than a plug focused mainly on switching devices on and off, such as the Kasa HS103P4, whose listed features do not include energy monitoring. Tapo also adds smart charging and automatic shutoff, giving this pack more management tools than a basic schedule alone. Compact housings help reduce outlet-blocking issues when plugs share a wall plate. The main compromise is platform dependence: it connects over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and the four-plug format may be more than someone needs for a single appliance. Its listed voice and app controls include Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings.

    Pros:
    • Four plugs provide energy monitoring across several appliances
    • Usage statistics and charts help track consumption
    • Smart charging, scheduling, and automatic shutoff add control options
    • Compact design helps preserve access to neighboring outlets
    Cons:
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Four plugs may be unnecessary for buyers monitoring only one device

    Best for: Households that want energy charts and remote control for several appliances, especially users of Alexa, Google Assistant, or SmartThings.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need only one monitored outlet or whose home network does not support 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.

    • Model:Tapo P115
    • Pack size:4 plugs
    • Operating voltage:110 V AC
    • Maximum wattage:1800 W
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Control methods:Tapo app, Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThings
    • Energy monitoring:Statistics and charts
    • Certifications:ETL, FCC, RoHS
    Our verdict
    “Pick this Tapo pack to monitor and manage several appliances, particularly if its listed app and voice controls match your smart-home setup.”
  3. Kasa Smart Plug HS103P4, 4-Pack

    Kasa Smart Plug HS103P4, 4-Pack

    Best Basic Multi-Pack

    View on Amazon

    The Kasa HS103P4 suits buyers who want to automate several lamps or fans with one four-plug set, but it is not a strong match for a roundup centered on energy monitoring: its listed features cover app and voice control, schedules, and timers, not consumption tracking. That distinction makes it a less suitable pick than the Tapo P115 four-pack, which provides energy statistics and charts as well as control. The HS103P4 still has a clear role for basic automation: it works with Alexa and Google Assistant, connects without a hub, and carries UL certification and a two-year warranty. Its 1800 W maximum rating gives it a defined load limit, while 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi is a network requirement. Choose it when switching and scheduling matter more than seeing how much connected devices use.

    Pros:
    • Four plugs support automation across multiple devices
    • Works with the Kasa app, Alexa, and Google Assistant
    • Schedules and timers support routine control
    • No hub required; UL certified with a two-year warranty
    Cons:
    • Energy monitoring is not listed, unlike the Tapo P115 four-pack
    • Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection

    Best for: Buyers automating several lamps or fans who prioritize schedules and voice control over energy-use data.

    Not ideal for: Anyone specifically seeking smart plugs with energy monitoring; the listed HS103P4 features do not include consumption tracking.

    • Model:HS103P4
    • Pack size:4
    • Operating voltage:120 V AC
    • Maximum wattage:1800 W
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
    • Dimensions:1.57 × 1.5 × 2.62 in
    • Certification and warranty:UL certified; 2 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose the HS103P4 for basic multi-room automation, not for tracking appliance energy use.”
  4. Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15A

    Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15A

    Best for Matter-Compatible Homes

    View on Amazon

    The Tapo P110M two-pack is the most suitable pick here for shoppers who want energy monitoring within a Matter-based smart home. Matter support and compatibility with Apple HomeKit, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings offer more platform flexibility than the Kasa KP115, whose listed voice support is limited to Alexa and Google Assistant. The P110M also tracks usage, supports schedules, and lets you set power thresholds, which can help you manage consumption or respond to overcharging concerns. Two compact plugs make it a measured way to add monitoring to a couple of devices before outfitting more outlets. Its limitation is network-specific rather than platform-specific: it still uses 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. Buyers who want four monitored outlets in one purchase may prefer the Tapo P110M four-pack instead.

    Pros:
    • Matter support across several major smart-home platforms
    • Energy monitoring and usage statistics
    • Power thresholds and schedules support more deliberate device management
    • Compact build helps keep neighboring outlets accessible
    Cons:
    • Limited to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Two-plug pack covers fewer devices than the Tapo P110M four-pack

    Best for: People with a Matter-compatible smart home who want energy tracking for a couple of appliances across Apple, Google, Alexa, or SmartThings platforms.

    Not ideal for: Buyers needing four monitored outlets at once or relying on a Wi-Fi network without 2.4 GHz support.

    • Model:P110M
    • Pack size:2
    • Maximum wattage:1800 W
    • Connectivity and protocols:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; Matter
    • Compatible platforms:Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
    • Control methods:App, voice, toggle
    • Operation mode:Automatic
    • Certification:UL certified
    Our verdict
    “Choose the P110M two-pack when cross-platform Matter support and energy tracking matter more than covering many outlets at once.”
  5. Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A

    Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A

    Best Matter Pick for Multiple Outlets

    View on Amazon

    Where the Tapo P110M two-pack suits a small number of monitored devices, this four-pack extends the same Matter-oriented approach to more outlets. It combines energy monitoring and usage statistics with scheduling and remote or voice control across Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and SmartThings. That broader platform list separates it from the Tapo P115 four-pack, whose listed controls include Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings but not Apple HomeKit or Matter. The P110M makes particular sense for a household that wants to keep devices within one cross-platform setup while tracking their consumption. The tradeoffs are the 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement and the commitment to a four-plug pack; a smaller rollout can start with the P110M two-pack. UL certification is listed, but no wattage details beyond 1800 W are provided here.

    Pros:
    • Four plugs extend energy monitoring across multiple appliances
    • Matter support and compatibility with major smart-home platforms
    • Usage statistics, schedules, and remote control support ongoing management
    • Compact design helps avoid blocking neighboring outlets
    Cons:
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Four-pack may be more than a small household needs compared with the P110M two-pack

    Best for: Matter-based households that want energy monitoring on several appliances and use Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Alexa, or SmartThings.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need only one or two monitored outlets, or whose network cannot connect over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.

    • Model:P110M
    • Pack size:4
    • Maximum wattage:1800 W
    • Connectivity and protocols:Matter; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Compatible platforms:Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
    • Control methods:App, voice, scheduling
    • Operation mode:Automatic
    • Certification:UL certified
    Our verdict
    “Choose this four-pack if you want Matter-compatible energy monitoring across several outlets and its 2.4 GHz requirement fits your network.”
  6. Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack

    Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack

    Best for Matter-Ready Multi-Room Setups

    View on Amazon

    Matter support and four-plug coverage make this Kasa pack a strong choice for buyers who want energy data across several devices without committing to one smart-home platform. Unlike the AiSeek Smart Plug, which relies on the SmartLife app before linking voice assistants, this model supports Apple Home, Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings through Matter. Its local network control can keep compatible controls working when internet access drops, while energy monitoring helps identify which plugged-in devices use the most power over time. The compact form is useful when outlets sit close together, and UL certification adds a clear safety credential. The tradeoff is that Matter flexibility still depends on a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network, and the 15A, 1800W ceiling rules out loads above that limit.

    Pros:
    • Matter support works across Apple Home, Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings
    • Energy monitoring tracks usage over time
    • Local network control can remain available without internet access
    • Compact design helps preserve access to adjacent outlets
    Cons:
    • Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection
    • The 15A/1800W limit excludes higher-load appliances

    Best for: Households with multiple smart-home platforms that want to monitor several lamps, fans, or other compatible devices across rooms

    Not ideal for: Buyers with 5 GHz-only Wi-Fi or appliances that exceed the 15A/1800W limit

    • Model:KP125MP4
    • Pack size:4 plugs
    • Maximum load:15 A / 1800 W
    • Operating voltage:120 V
    • Connectivity:Matter, Wi-Fi, SmartThings
    • Wi-Fi band:2.4 GHz
    • Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Samsung SmartThings
    • Safety certification:UL certified
    • Warranty:2-year limited
    Our verdict
    “Choose this four-pack if you want Matter-based platform flexibility and energy tracking across several standard household devices.”
  7. AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-Pack

    AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 4-Pack

    Best for App-Based Group Scheduling

    View on Amazon

    The AiSeek four-pack suits buyers who want real-time energy monitoring alongside schedules, timers, and grouped control in the SmartLife app. Compared with the Kasa Matter Smart Plug 4-Pack, it gives up Matter and Apple Home support, but offers Bluetooth alongside Wi-Fi and works with Alexa and Google Assistant once set up through SmartLife. That app-first setup makes this a more natural fit for someone already managing devices through SmartLife or Tuya than for a household seeking broad cross-platform integration. Its compact dimensions and listed overload and short-circuit protection are practical additions for everyday plug-in devices. The main compromises are the 2.4 GHz-only Wi-Fi requirement and the extra linking step before voice assistants can control the plugs.

    Pros:
    • Real-time energy monitoring
    • SmartLife schedules, timers, and group control
    • Works with Alexa and Google Assistant
    • Compact plugs list overload and short-circuit protection
    Cons:
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Must be set up in SmartLife before linking Alexa or Google Assistant
    • Does not list Matter or Apple Home compatibility

    Best for: SmartLife or Tuya users who want four monitored plugs with group control, timers, and voice access through Alexa or Google Assistant

    Not ideal for: Apple Home or Matter users, and buyers who want to connect voice assistants without first setting up the SmartLife app

    • Model:KT-US-EM-15AP
    • Pack size:4 plugs
    • Maximum power:1800 W
    • Operating voltage:120 V
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Bluetooth
    • App compatibility:SmartLife, Tuya
    • Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
    • Dimensions:1.4 x 2.8 x 2 inches
    • Warranty:2 years
    Our verdict
    “Pick AiSeek if SmartLife-based group scheduling matters more to you than Matter or Apple Home support.”
  8. Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plugs, 4-Pack

    Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plugs, 4-Pack

    Best for Lower-Power Devices

    View on Amazon

    Emporia is the cautious choice in this group for monitoring standard plug-in devices, with one notable limit: its 1200W maximum is lower than the 1800W ceiling on the Tapo P115 2-Pack and both Kasa Matter packs. That makes it better suited to lights and fans than to buyers seeking the broader load headroom those alternatives provide. The Emporia app supports remote control and schedules, while Alexa and Google Assistant add voice operation. Four plugs also let buyers spread monitoring across several rooms. Its listed 10A continuous-load limit calls for careful matching to the connected device, and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi is required. With a one-year warranty, it offers less warranty coverage than the Kasa Matter options, but includes ETL and FCC certifications.

    Pros:
    • Energy monitoring for connected devices
    • Four plugs provide coverage across multiple outlets
    • App scheduling and remote control
    • Supports Alexa and Google Assistant
    Cons:
    • 1200W maximum is below the 1800W limit of the Tapo P115 and Kasa Matter options
    • 10A continuous-load limit requires attention to device draw
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and has a one-year warranty

    Best for: People monitoring lights, fans, and other lower-power 120V devices across several rooms

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need 15A/1800W capacity, 5 GHz Wi-Fi support, or a longer stated warranty

    • Pack size:4 plugs
    • Voltage:120 V
    • Maximum wattage:1200 W
    • Continuous-load limit:10 A
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; 5 GHz Wi-Fi not supported
    • Control methods:App, remote, touch, voice, push button
    • Compatibility:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Android, iOS
    • Certifications:ETL, FCC
    • Warranty:1 year
    Our verdict
    “Choose Emporia for monitoring several lower-power devices, but choose a 15A alternative if you need more load headroom.”
  9. Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15A

    Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15A

    Best Compact Two-Pack

    View on Amazon

    The Tapo P115 is the compact two-plug option for buyers who want energy statistics without filling a drawer with extra plugs. Its 1800W maximum matches the Kasa Matter models, but it lacks their Matter-based platform flexibility: control runs through the Tapo app, with Alexa and Google Assistant support. For a smaller setup focused on a couple of devices, that narrower ecosystem may be a fair exchange for scheduling, automatic shutoff, and usage charts. The compact shape can help keep a neighboring outlet usable, a practical advantage when wall receptacles are close together. Unlike the AiSeek four-pack, this Tapo bundle gives you fewer plugs, so it is less suited to monitoring a whole home. It also requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and the Tapo app for app-based control.

    Pros:
    • Energy statistics and charts help track device use
    • Compact design can leave adjacent outlets accessible
    • Supports schedules and automatic shutoff
    • App, remote, Alexa, and Google Assistant control
    Cons:
    • Includes only two plugs, fewer than the AiSeek, Emporia, and Kasa four-packs
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • App-based control requires the Tapo app and it does not list Matter support

    Best for: Apartment residents or small households who want to monitor two devices and preserve access to neighboring outlets

    Not ideal for: Buyers needing four or more monitored outlets, Matter integration, or support for 5 GHz Wi-Fi

    • Model:P115
    • Quantity:2 plugs
    • Operating voltage:125 V
    • Maximum wattage:1800 W
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Control:Tapo app, voice, remote
    • Compatible assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
    • Certifications:ETL, FCC, RoHS
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Tapo P115 if two compact, energy-monitoring plugs are enough and Matter support is not a priority.”
  10. Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A/1800W, 2-Pack

    Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A/1800W, 2-Pack

    Best Two-Pack for Matter Ecosystems

    View on Amazon

    This Kasa two-pack is the focused alternative to the Kasa Matter four-pack: it brings the same core appeal—energy tracking, Matter support, and local network control—to buyers who only need two outlets covered. Compatibility spans Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings, so it makes more sense than the Tapo P115 for a household that values platform choice. The 15A/1800W limit gives it more listed load capacity than the Emporia four-pack, though connected devices still need to stay within that ceiling. Compact construction helps avoid blocking neighboring outlets, and UL-certified flame-retardant design plus a two-year limited warranty are useful points of distinction. The tradeoff is straightforward: you get fewer plugs than the four-pack and still need 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.

    Pros:
    • Matter support spans Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings
    • Local network control can work when internet access is unavailable
    • Energy monitoring tracks power consumption
    • Compact UL-certified flame-retardant design with a two-year limited warranty
    Cons:
    • Two plugs provide less coverage than the Kasa Matter four-pack
    • Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network
    • Maximum load is limited to 15A/1800W

    Best for: Matter users who want to monitor two devices across Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings

    Not ideal for: Buyers monitoring several rooms at once, or those without 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi or with devices exceeding 15A/1800W

    • Model:KP125MP2
    • Pack size:2 plugs
    • Maximum current:15 A
    • Maximum power:1800 W
    • Operating voltage:120 V
    • Connectivity:Matter, Wi-Fi, SmartThings
    • Wi-Fi band:2.4 GHz
    • Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
    • Warranty:2-year limited
    Our verdict
    “Choose this Kasa pack if you want Matter flexibility and energy monitoring for two devices rather than four.”
  11. Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-Pack

    Govee Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-Pack

    Best for Long-Term Usage Tracking

    View on Amazon

    The Govee 4-pack is a strong fit if you want to compare appliance use over time, not just check a live reading: its app stores historical energy data for up to one year and displays power, current, and voltage. Four plugs also make it practical to track several devices around the home. Unlike the THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3, Govee connects directly over Wi-Fi rather than requiring a Zigbee hub, though it does not add a Zigbee repeater to strengthen a mesh network. You get app, touch, and voice control, plus schedules and group controls. The tradeoff is reliance on Govee Home for smart features and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only; buyers seeking a Matter-based, multi-platform setup may prefer the Tapo P125M.

    Pros:
    • Tracks real-time power, current, and voltage, with up to one year of historical data
    • Four-plug pack supports monitoring several appliances
    • Works with Alexa and Google Assistant and offers schedules and group control
    • ETL and FCC certified
    Cons:
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and does not support 5 GHz
    • Smart features depend on the Govee Home app
    • Does not provide the Zigbee mesh-repeater function offered by THIRDREALITY

    Best for: Households that want a four-room energy snapshot and year-long usage history without adding a smart-home hub

    Not ideal for: People with only 5 GHz Wi-Fi or buyers who want energy monitoring inside a Matter-based platform

    • Pack size:4 plugs
    • Maximum current:15 A
    • Maximum wattage:1800 W
    • Operating voltage:120 V
    • Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
    • Wi-Fi compatibility:2.4 GHz only; does not support 5 GHz
    • Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant
    • Certifications:ETL and FCC
    Our verdict
    “Choose Govee if year-long energy history across four appliances matters more to you than Matter compatibility or broader network options.”
  12. THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3, 4-Pack

    THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3, 4-Pack

    Best for Zigbee Mesh Expansion

    View on Amazon

    The THIRDREALITY Gen3 four-pack suits buyers who already run a Zigbee smart-home system and want monitoring plugs to do double duty as mesh repeaters. Its stated ±1% power-monitoring accuracy gives energy readings a clear specification, while four units can extend coverage in several parts of a home. Compared with the Wi-Fi-based Govee Smart Plug, this model can strengthen a Zigbee network, but it cannot work on its own: a compatible hub is required. That extra dependency makes it a poor starter choice for someone who just wants app-controlled plugs. Platform support also affects power-on status restoration, which is available only on select systems. Its on-off operation keeps the role simple, but buyers seeking Matter or broad direct Wi-Fi setup should look at the Tapo P125M instead.

    Pros:
    • States ±1% power-monitoring accuracy
    • Each plug can act as a Zigbee repeater to extend mesh coverage
    • Four plugs support monitoring across multiple locations
    • ETL certified and FCC compliant
    Cons:
    • Requires a compatible Zigbee hub
    • Power-on status restoration is available only on select platforms
    • Zigbee setup is less suited to buyers seeking a simple, hub-free Wi-Fi plug

    Best for: Existing Zigbee households that want to monitor appliance consumption while improving mesh coverage

    Not ideal for: First-time smart-plug buyers without a compatible Zigbee hub or those who want direct Wi-Fi setup

    • Pack size:4 plugs
    • Connectivity:Zigbee 3.0
    • Operating voltage:110 V
    • Power monitoring accuracy:±1%
    • Control methods:Remote and voice
    • Hub requirement:Compatible Zigbee hub required
    • Operation mode:On-off
    • Warranty:1 year
    Our verdict
    “Pick THIRDREALITY when you already have a Zigbee hub and value network coverage as much as appliance energy readings.”
  13. TP-Link Tapo P125M Matter Smart Plug Mini, 3-Pack

    Best for Matter Platform Flexibility

    View on Amazon

    The Tapo P125M three-pack is the most flexible choice here for households that use different smart-home platforms or may change systems later. Matter support connects it with Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings, while local network control can keep commands working when the internet is unavailable. Those features make it a better fit for cross-platform control than the Govee plug, whose smart features rely on its own app. The key limitation for this roundup is that the supplied product details do not specify energy monitoring, so buyers should verify that capability before choosing it specifically to track consumption. It also runs on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and is rated for 15 A and 1800 W, so check appliance requirements rather than assuming it suits every load.

    Pros:
    • Matter compatibility spans Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings
    • Local network control can work when internet access is unavailable
    • Compact design helps leave neighboring outlets accessible
    • UL-certified flame-retardant design with a two-year limited warranty
    Cons:
    • Provided product data does not specify energy monitoring, a key requirement for this roundup
    • Wi-Fi support is limited to 2.4 GHz
    • 15 A and 1800 W maximum ratings may not suit every appliance

    Best for: Multi-platform smart-home households that prioritize Matter compatibility and local control, after confirming their energy-monitoring needs

    Not ideal for: Buyers choosing primarily for documented energy readings or those with only 5 GHz Wi-Fi

    • Model:Tapo P125M
    • Pack size:3 plugs
    • Maximum current:15 A
    • Maximum wattage:1800 W
    • Operating voltage:120 V AC
    • Connectivity:Bluetooth, Matter, and Wi-Fi
    • Wi-Fi band:2.4 GHz
    • Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings
    • Warranty:2-year limited
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Tapo P125M for Matter flexibility and local control, but verify energy-monitoring support before buying it for consumption tracking.”
  14. Kasa Smart Plug Mini 15A with Energy Monitoring and Apple HomeKit Support

    Kasa Smart Plug Mini 15A with Energy Monitoring and Apple HomeKit Support

    Best for Apple HomeKit Households

    View on Amazon

    The Kasa EP25P4 is a good match for Apple households that want energy readings alongside familiar Siri and HomeKit control. It reports real-time and historical usage, works without a hub, and also supports Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings. That gives it broader assistant coverage than a single-platform plug, while its compact build helps preserve access to nearby outlets. Compared with the Kasa EP25P2 two-pack, this is the better fit for buyers equipping more locations, though the supplied details do not state its pack count. Both Kasa models share the same notable HomeKit caveat: remote control requires another networked Apple device at home. The 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement also rules it out for networks that provide only 5 GHz access.

    Pros:
    • Tracks real-time and historical energy usage
    • Supports HomeKit, Siri, Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings
    • Works over Wi-Fi without requiring a hub
    • Compact, UL-certified flame-retardant design
    Cons:
    • HomeKit remote control requires an additional networked Apple device at home
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Maximum load is limited to 15 A and 1800 W

    Best for: Apple HomeKit households that want live and historical energy data with hub-free control across several assistant platforms

    Not ideal for: Homes without a networked Apple device for HomeKit remote access or networks limited to 5 GHz Wi-Fi

    • Model:EP25P4
    • Maximum current:15 A
    • Maximum load:1800 W
    • Operating voltage:120 V AC
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Compatible assistants and platforms:Apple HomeKit, Siri, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings
    • Energy monitoring:Real-time and historical usage
    • Warranty:2-year limited
    Our verdict
    “Choose the EP25P4 if HomeKit compatibility and energy history are priorities and your home can meet its Apple-device and Wi-Fi requirements.”
  15. Kasa Smart Plug Mini EP25P2, 15A, Apple HomeKit Compatible

    Kasa Smart Plug Mini EP25P2, 15A, Apple HomeKit Compatible

    Best Two-Pack for HomeKit Energy Tracking

    View on Amazon

    The Kasa EP25P2 two-pack offers the same broad platform mix as the EP25P4, but in a clearly stated two-plug bundle for buyers who only need to monitor a pair of appliances. It tracks energy use and supports HomeKit, Siri, Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings, so you can use voice or scheduled control without committing to one assistant. Compared with the Govee four-pack, the EP25P2 provides Apple HomeKit support, but gives you fewer plugs and does not list year-long history in the supplied details. Its 15 A / 1800 W limit also means checking the appliance rating matters. Like the EP25P4, it needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and HomeKit remote access depends on having another networked Apple device at home.

    Pros:
    • Two-plug pack suits monitoring a small number of appliances
    • Tracks energy use and supports app, voice, scheduling, and timers
    • Compatible with Apple HomeKit, Siri, Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings
    • Compact, UL-certified flame-retardant design with no hub required
    Cons:
    • HomeKit remote access requires an additional networked Apple device at home
    • Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Maximum rating of 15 A and 1800 W limits suitable appliance loads

    Best for: Apple Home users who want energy monitoring for two appliances and prefer a compact, hub-free Wi-Fi setup

    Not ideal for: Buyers outfitting many rooms, needing documented long-term energy history, or lacking 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi

    • Model:EP25P2
    • Unit count:2
    • Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
    • Maximum current:15 A
    • Maximum power:1800 W
    • Operating voltage:120 V
    • Compatible platforms:Apple HomeKit, Siri, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings
    • Hub requirement:No hub required
    • Warranty:2-year limited
    Our verdict
    “Pick the EP25P2 for energy tracking across two appliances in a HomeKit home, but choose Govee if you need a larger pack or year-long history.”
smart plugs with energy monitoring
What makes a great smart plugs with energy monitoring
1
Check That Energy Monitoring Is Explicitly Included
Remote on/off control and energy monitoring are separate capabilities, even when two plugs look alike or share a product family.
2
Match the Plug to the Appliance Load
A stated 15A or 1800W capacity describes a limit, not a blanket approval for every device.
3
Choose Ecosystem Support Before Buying a Multi-Pack
Matter, Apple HomeKit, and app-based Wi-Fi control are not interchangeable buying labels.
4
Decide How You Will Use the Energy Data
Monitoring is most useful when it answers a specific question, such as whether an appliance draws power while idle or how its use
How to choose your smart plugs with energy monitoring
1
How we picked
I ranked these options by how well they serve the specific purpose of monitoring energy use , then weighed usability, co
2
Check That Energy Monitoring Is Explicitly Included
Remote on/off control and energy monitoring are separate capabilities, even when two plugs look alike or share a product
3
Match the Plug to the Appliance Load
A stated 15A or 1800W capacity describes a limit, not a blanket approval for every device.
4
Choose Ecosystem Support Before Buying a Multi-Pack
Matter, Apple HomeKit, and app-based Wi-Fi control are not interchangeable buying labels.
5
Decide How You Will Use the Energy Data
Monitoring is most useful when it answers a specific question, such as whether an appliance draws power while idle or ho
Vetted smart plugs with energy monitoring ·
The best smart plugs with energy monitoring, compared
★ Winner Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener
Best Single-Plug Pick
15compared
1800 Wtop maximum wattage

How We Picked

I ranked these options by how well they serve the specific purpose of monitoring energy use, then weighed usability, compatibility, and practical fit. A model listing energy monitoring earns more consideration than one whose stated features focus on switching alone. I also compared stated electrical capacity, compactness, wireless or smart-home requirements, and pack size, since those details affect whether a plug works for a single appliance, a room, or a larger setup.

The order favors clear monitoring capability paired with useful everyday flexibility, rather than treating a larger pack or a familiar brand as an automatic advantage. Matter and HomeKit support matter most for buyers building around those platforms; they do not replace checking the monitoring feature itself. Product names and listings can vary by generation or region, so I flag models where the supplied product information does not establish energy monitoring and recommend verifying the exact version before purchase.

Everyday → specialist
Everyday & valuePremium & specialist
Which smart plugs with energy monitoring fits you?
The everyday user
All-round, reliable
The enthusiast
Premium & high-performance
The gift-giver
Looks & craftsmanship

Factors to Consider When Choosing Smart Plugs With Energy Monitoring

Choosing a monitored plug is less about collecting the most app features and more about deciding what you need the readings to tell you. I would start with the appliance, your smart-home platform, and the number of outlets you want to track; those choices rule out mismatched products before pack size or convenience becomes the deciding factor.

Check That Energy Monitoring Is Explicitly Included

Remote on/off control and energy monitoring are separate capabilities, even when two plugs look alike or share a product family. Confirm that the exact model number and generation list energy monitoring rather than relying on a broad brand description. This matters especially when comparing the Kasa HS103P4 or Tapo P125M with nearby models whose names include monitoring. A common mistake is to assume that Matter support or a companion app automatically provides consumption data. If you only need schedules, a control-only plug may be enough; if you want to identify standby draw or compare appliance use, choose a model that clearly reports energy. Check whether the app presents both current power and historical consumption if those are the readings you plan to use.

Match the Plug to the Appliance Load

A stated 15A or 1800W capacity describes a limit, not a blanket approval for every device. Compare the plug’s rated load with the appliance label, and follow the manufacturer’s instructions for the plug and the connected equipment. Some appliances have startup behavior or operating demands that make a simple wattage comparison insufficient, so check guidance for the specific device. Avoid using a plug to control equipment that requires a hardwired connection or that its instructions rule out. Do not connect multiple high-load devices through one plug or adapter to work around outlet limits. A lower-capacity model may be fine for a lamp or small household device, while heavier loads call for closer attention to ratings and safety guidance.

Choose Ecosystem Support Before Buying a Multi-Pack

Matter, Apple HomeKit, and app-based Wi-Fi control are not interchangeable buying labels. If you already use a smart-home platform, verify that the exact plug and its energy-monitoring features work with it; some functionality may depend on the manufacturer’s app even when basic control works elsewhere. Matter can help mixed-brand homes connect devices through compatible controllers, but it does not guarantee that every platform exposes energy readings. HomeKit-oriented shoppers should check the listed Kasa EP25 model and confirm the precise feature set for their intended setup. Buying a multi-pack before checking compatibility can leave several plugs working only in a secondary app. For a first device, test the platform fit with one plug when possible, then expand.

Decide How You Will Use the Energy Data

Monitoring is most useful when it answers a specific question, such as whether an appliance draws power while idle or how its use changes by time of day. Before buying, check whether the app shows live power, accumulated consumption, history, or export options that support your goal. A simple usage display may be enough for a quick check, while ongoing comparisons call for useful history and clear units. Energy readings can help identify patterns, but they do not automatically explain why a bill changed or predict exact savings. Avoid choosing a plug solely for a projected reduction in electricity costs. If you need whole-home analysis, room-level appliance readings from smart plugs are only one part of that picture.

Use Pack Size to Plan Coverage, Not Just Quantity

Two-, three-, and four-packs can make sense when you already know which appliances you want to monitor. Count outlets and check whether neighboring sockets remain usable; a plug’s size can affect access even when the product is described as mini. Multi-packs are convenient for comparing several similar appliances, but they can be wasteful if only one device is a meaningful monitoring target. A mixed approach can work: use monitored plugs for appliances you want to track and less costly control-only plugs for basic schedules, provided you do not mistake one type for the other. Also check whether all plugs in the pack share the same specifications and app requirements. Start with the devices that matter most rather than automatically filling every outlet.

Treat Connectivity and Setup as Part of the Fit

Many Wi-Fi smart plugs rely on a 2.4 GHz network, so check the product’s setup requirements and your router configuration before ordering. A dual-band router may still work, but setup can be awkward if its network settings combine bands or use features the plug does not support. Bluetooth listed alongside Wi-Fi can assist with connection or local features, but it does not necessarily mean the plug operates independently of Wi-Fi. Consider where the outlet sits and whether your network reaches it reliably; energy data is less useful when the device repeatedly disconnects. If you are buying several plugs, add them gradually and confirm stable operation before deploying a whole pack. This avoids confusing connection problems with gaps in the monitoring data.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which products in this roundup clearly list energy monitoring?

The supplied product names explicitly identify energy monitoring for the Kasa KP115, Tapo P115 and P110M, Kasa Matter energy-monitoring models, AiSeek, Emporia, Govee, and the Kasa HomeKit energy-monitoring plug. The Kasa HS103P4 and THIRDREALITY Gen3 listings do not identify energy monitoring, so I would not choose them for consumption tracking without checking the exact model documentation. The Tapo P125M listing specifies Matter but does not name monitoring. Features can differ by model revision and region, so check the full listing and manual before buying. If monitoring is the main reason for the purchase, prioritize a model that states it directly.

Will a Matter smart plug show energy readings in every smart-home app?

No. Matter support helps compatible devices connect across participating smart-home platforms, but the features exposed can vary by plug, app, controller, and software version. A plug can support Matter for switching while its energy data remains available only in the manufacturer’s app. Before choosing a Tapo P110M or Kasa Matter model, check whether your preferred platform displays the readings you want, not just whether it can turn the outlet on and off. If energy history is important, confirm where that history is stored and how long it remains available. Treat platform compatibility and monitoring support as two separate checks.

Can I use a 15A smart plug with a heater or other high-load appliance?

A 15A label alone does not confirm that a plug is suitable for every heater or high-load appliance. Compare the appliance’s electrical requirements with the plug’s rating and follow both manufacturers’ instructions, including any restrictions on the device type. Pay attention to continuous operation and startup demands, which may not be captured by a casual glance at a product title. Never exceed the plug, outlet, or circuit limits, and do not use adapters or chained plugs to increase capacity. If the device’s instructions prohibit smart plugs, follow that guidance. For uncertain or fixed-installation equipment, ask a qualified electrician.

Should I buy a multi-pack if I only want to monitor one appliance?

Usually, a single plug is the more sensible fit when one appliance is your only monitoring target. Multi-packs make more sense when you have a defined group of devices to compare or you want several monitored outlets in the same room. Before buying, check that each plug will fit without blocking adjacent outlets and that your network can support the added devices. A pack can also leave you with extras if you later discover that some appliances are not suitable for plug-based monitoring. Start by listing the devices you intend to track and confirm their loads and outlet locations. Choose the pack size that matches that plan, not simply the largest bundle.

Are smart-plug energy readings enough to calculate what an appliance costs to run?

They can help estimate consumption, but a reading is only one input in a cost calculation. You need the amount of energy used over the period you care about and the applicable electricity rate, which may vary by time or plan. Check whether the app reports cumulative energy and whether its history covers the dates you want to compare. Readings can also be affected by connection gaps, app limits, or differences in how products record usage. Treat the result as a practical estimate rather than a guaranteed bill amount. For whole-home costs or detailed billing analysis, compare the plug’s data with your utility statement or a broader monitoring system.

Conclusion

For most buyers seeking a clear balance of energy monitoring and everyday usability, I would start with the Kasa KP115 as the best overall, then compare its app and platform fit with the Tapo P115 or P110M. For best value across several monitored outlets, the Tapo P115 four-pack is a strong candidate when its Wi-Fi requirements suit your home; the Emporia four-pack is another multi-outlet option for shoppers focused on tracking. My best premium choice is the Tapo P110M Matter four-pack for buyers who want both monitoring and Matter support across multiple outlets, while the two-pack is a better way to begin with that setup. For beginners, choose one clearly labeled monitoring model and confirm its app works with your phone and home network before scaling up. For Apple HomeKit households, look at the Kasa EP25 models and verify the exact monitoring features; for buyers who only want remote switching, the HS103P4 or THIRDREALITY may fit, but they are not my picks for energy tracking. Match the product to the feature you need, rather than assuming every smart plug in the list measures consumption.

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

4 Best Noise Dosimeter Kits for OSHA Surveys in 2026

Discover the top noise dosimeter kits for OSHA surveys in 2026. Compare features, pros, cons, and find the best fit for your occupational noise monitoring needs.

14 Best Fold-Flat High Chairs for Small Spaces That Save Room and Style

Discover the best foldflat high chairs for small spaces in 2026. Find space-saving, portable options like the Sun Valley Compact and Cosco Deluxe for busy families.

13 Best Premium Electric Guitars for Every Level of Musician in 2026

Discover the top premium electric guitars in 2026, including the best overall, value picks, and options for beginners. Find your perfect guitar today.

5 Best Halloween RV Decorations in 2027

Compare five Halloween RV decorations, from a campsite backdrop to solar, battery-powered and window lights, with practical placement tradeoffs.